Georgia Department of Education

Testimony of Dr. Christopher H. Tienken, from Seton Hall University in New Jersey, to Georgia House Study Committee on Education.  Click Here

The unelected appointed Georgia Board of Education renamed the Georgia Common Core Performance Standards (GCCPS) under the noses of taxpayers and against the recommendation of the elected Superintendent Richard Woods. This is certainly in an effort to distance Georgia from the now “dirty words” Common Core. The new name for the standards are Georgia Performance Standards of Excellence. Read the Georgians to Stop Common Core press release: https://gastopcommoncore.wordpress.com/2-20-15/.

Mr. Woods, in an effort to encourage a positive change in education, wrote Arne Duncan a letter expressing his belief that excessive standardized tests should be replaced with more accurate tools. http://www.woodsforsuper.com/home/superintendent-woods-sends-letter-on-esea-reauthorization-to-duncan-expressing-concerns-for-testing-calling-for-a-paradigm-shift.

Because this is a radical but very important and needed change in education, Mr. Woods’ letter made national news: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/wp/2015/02/27/georgias-education-chief-has-some-words-for-arne-duncan/.

If you are as angered as Georgians to Stop Common Core are by the obvious betrayal to voters / taxpayers, contact the boards members below and make your voice count. There is strength and power in numbers.

205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive SE
Atlanta, GA 30334
Local (404) 656-2800
Toll Free: (800) 311-3627 (GA)
Fax: (404) 651-8737
Email:  askdoe@gadoe.org


Board Members

Mr. Richard Woods
Chief Executive Officer
state.superintendent@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 656-2800
(404) 651-8737 (Fax)

Barbara Hampton, CPA
Sixth Congressional District
bahampton@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Brian K. Burdette
Tenth Congressional District
bburdette@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Helen Odom Rice
Third Congressional District Chair
hrice@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Kenneth Mason
Fifth Congressional District
kmason@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Kevin Boyd
Ninth Congressional District
kevin.boyd@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Larry Winter
Fourteenth Congressional District
lwinter@doe.k12.ga.us
(706)-278-2834
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Lisa Kinnemore
Fourth Congressional District
lkinnemore@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Mary Sue Murray
Thirteenth Congressional District
mmurray@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Mike Long
First Congressional District
mlong@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Mike Royal
Seventh Congressional District, Vice Chair
mroyal@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Sandra Reed, M.D.
Eighth Congressional District
sreed@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Scott Johnson
Eleventh Congressional District
scjohnson@doe.k12.ga.us
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Trey Allen
Twelfth Congressional District
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

William “W.T.” Henry​
Second Congressional District
(404) 657-7410
(404) 657-6978 (Fax)

Advertisements