Why Refuse the Tests? For The Good.

Why do we fight? Why should you opt out or refuse the tests?

I believe in The Good. I’ve seen it in the school system. As a parent, I felt The Good when I would go into the school and volunteer my time in the classroom. I saw the look of pride in the teacher’s eye when a student would have that “a-ha!” moment. I heard happiness in the voice of a teacher when she bragged on my child. I felt the enthusiasm of the children in a room when the teacher was excited about teaching. I believe in The Good.

Many ask why I decided to opt out or refuse the tests. I refuse for many reasons. I saw my child withdraw because she felt stupid when multiple strategies presented told her she didn’t know how to add. I hear the stories of parents who have children now diagnosed with acronyms because they can’t keep up with the “rigor.” I refuse because I believe in teachers who have a passion to teach rather than test. I refuse because I believe in The Good.

I refuse because I know someone in Washington, DC cares very little about what is happening in my community, to my children, and to my neighbor’s children. I refuse because I believe parents need a voice in their child’s education. I refuse because I still believe I have a voice to tell the federal government and the state to stop putting so much emphasis on policy and not enough emphasis on what is good for all of our kids. I refuse because I never want my children to be a cog in someone else’s agenda.  I refuse because that’s my loudest voice right now in public education. I refuse because I want to stand up for The Good.

The Good is not federal intrusion into what should be a local endeavor. The Good is not stealing teaching time in favor of a bubble test. The Good is not measuring a teacher based on a score from a single test. The Good is teachers and parents who want the best for the children they know and love.

The Good is wanting the best for our children. The Good is letting parents have a real voice in their child’s education. I refuse because I believe in The Good. I refuse because I want to give a loud voice to The Good that can be public education.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

